Biographies of western delegates who attended the 1861 Virginia Secession Convention were transcribed by undergraduate students enrolled in Dr. Billy Joe Peyton's Fall 2010 "Introduction to Public History" class at West Virginia State University.

By Shannon Laws

LOGAN OSBURN, of Jefferson County (now in West Virginia), was a justice of the peace and was also a member of the Virginia House of Delegates during the 1857-1858 session. He was a "Union conservative" and was elected as such to represent Jefferson County in the State Convention. He voted against secession on April 4 and again on April 17, but when his opinions were "overwhelmed by a large majority" of his constituents, he returned to the Convention in June, 1861, and "from a sense of patriotic and public duty," signed the ordinance of secession.

After the war Osburn lived at Charles Town in Jefferson County. He was member of the West Virginia Constitutional Convention of 1872.

SOURCES: Millard K. Bushong, A History of Jefferson County, West Virginia (Charles Town, W. Va., 1941), pp. 101-103, 210; PMWV, p. 57; RGA, p. 413