Biographies of western delegates who attended the 1861 Virginia Secession Convention were transcribed by undergraduate students enrolled in Dr. Billy Joe Peyton's Fall 2010 "Introduction to Public History" class at West Virginia State University.

By John Morrison

CHAPMAN JOHNSON STUART, of Doddridge County (now in West Virginia), was born on January 8, 1820, in Bath County, Virginia. He moved to the northwestern part of the state and became a lawyer. From 1852 to 1861 he was common wealth's attorney of Doddridge County. He represented Doddridge and Tyler counties in the State Convention and was elected as a Unionist. He voted against secession on April 4 and on April 17, and he was later expelled from the Virginia Convention became of his continued opposition to secession.

Stuart was a member of the Wheeling (or Restored Government) Convention and was also a member of West Virginia's first Constitutional convention. During the war he served in the Union army as a lieutenant colonel. In 1863 he was elected judge of the Fourth Judicial Circuit of West Virginia House of Delegates from 1875 to 1879. He died on April 20, 1888, at West Union.

Sources: Charles H. Ambler (ed), Debates and Proceedings of the First Constitutional Convention of West Virginia (Huntington, W. Va., 1946), Introduction, p. 96; PMWV, pp.45, 46, 53, 55.